Church HistoryIn 1798 Joseph Mitchell was sent to
Vergennes as the head of a large preaching circuit, which included
Shelburne. After just two years of Mitchell's work, Vermont could boast
six circuits and a membership of just under eleven hundred, despite our
pioneer conditions. It is possible he preached in Shelburne, although
there is no record of it before the year 1800, when an appointment was
established here by Henry Ryan.
The Society was formed and
continued for a time in the east part of the town. Among the charter
members were Nathaniel Gage, James and John Simonds and Phineas Hall.
Perhaps as early as 1825 the movement for a Methodist place of worship
began to take shape in the minds of the congregation, but nine years
elapsed before the brick church was finished and dedicated, at the cost
of about $2,000. The building was erected on what is now the property
of the Catholic Church.
On March 28, 1870 Brother Edgerton met
with a group of men and women to discus the prospects of building or
repairing the old building. After years of hearty debate, contracts in
the amount of $3,300 for the construction and $4,300 for the stone,
which was quarried in New York State and brought across the lake in the
winter 1871. Following, nearly two years were lost in a spat of
bickering over the construction details. The final contracts were let
in 1873 in the amount of $24,491.26. The building was finally dedicated
on February 18, 1874 by Bishops Janes.
The organ was purchased
in 1914 for $2,100 with the help of a $1,000 donation from Andrew
Carnegie. Also that year, electricity was installed in the church and
Many other interesting details of the
congregation's life are contained in several small booklets of history
prepared for on several anniversary occasions and available to view at